‘Terima Kasih Cinta’ And Why You Should Watch The Musical

Posted on February 17, 2011

12


By: Jiman Casablancas
From: Jiman’s Facebook Notes
Date: February 17, 2011

When was the last time you attended a locally produced theatre presentation? Mine was Octopus sometime last month. Before that it was Cuci The Musical II which I watched twice. If you are like me, then I should have no problem to persuade you to watch Terima Kasih Cinta which opens this Saturday (19th Feb 2011). If your answer is Puteri Gunung Ledang, then it has been too freakin’ long and you urgently need to get your ass back to Istana Budaya to watch Terima Kasih Cinta and support this production.

Reason One why you have to watch this – With main casts varied from the evergreen Latif Ibrahim and Safura to budding new artists Diddy (of Akademi Fantasia – the boy that sounds like Jamal) and Faradhiya, Terima Kasih Cinta promises to have something for everyone. Other casts include Sharifah Aleeya, Anding, Shajiry, Tony Eusoff and the incomparable Deja Moss. I was at the tech run last night and when I came, Latif Ibrahim was singing his part in one of the “restaurant scene” (Latif Ibrahim plays the role of Rahim Razali in the movie version) and BOY OH BOY, the man still has it. His voice hasn’t changed and I was mesmerized – the word I should use here if I were to write in Malay is “terpaku”. It was definitely the highlight of my night, and I wasn’t even on grindr. OK let’s move on.

Reason Two – if you are a fan of evergreen Malay music and a pop culture junkie like me, then this is definitely for you. Terima Kasih Cinta is a musical based on the movie “Cinta” and it will be told in the style of GLEE, where popular songs from the past are given new arrangements. Expect to hear favourites from Aishah, Alleycats, Sheila Majid, Zainal Abidin, Search etc. You will have a ball guessing the songs, kinda like on POPKUIZ. And to hear these songs to be interpreted by amazing singers like Latif Ibrahim, Safura, Faradhiya and Diddy are icing on the cake.

Reason Three – the people behind it. Numero uno is Boudeng, who is one of the most passionate man I’ve ever met in my whole entire life. He believes in something and he goes for it. He first mentioned to me about his vision of Terima Kasih Cinta one particular week when we would attend weekly Showdown 2010 live recording shows at KL Live (in which Boudeng was also one of the judges during the Finale) last year. He was, at the time, shopping for ideas and busy getting inspired. Next thing I know, he has started the casting processes and suddenly they were practicing already. Boudeng does not waste time and his eyes would lit up whenever I asked him about his latest baby. He called on his good friends to help him with the project, and to say the least, his friends are some of THE MOST talented people in the industry, Raja Malek, Roslan Aziz and Pat Ibrahim. Together, they are indeed a powerhouse. I trust that the last time this team came together for a project, excluding Pat, was for Ikhlas the Concert. And that, for those who are not in the know, was a mammoth of a production.

Reason Four – because your support helps to fund this production. The production is running without any sponsors and they are 2 days from opening day. I wish I could tell you the frustrations they have gone through in terms of finding sponsors and broken promises, but I am not gonna because the point is they are not giving up. I have the highest respect for the production team for deciding to carry on with the show despite the lack of funds. They could have easily wrapped but this is really about embracing the arts and what you really believe in.

So there you have it, 4 BIG REASONS why you should purchase your tickets to watch Terima Kasih Cinta because as much as it is a tale of love, it is also about the resilience of the people who brings it to you and their passion – because it’s true what a poet once said, without passion you might as well be dead.

TERIMA KASIH CINTA opens this Saturday, 19th Feb 2011 until 6th March 2011. Tickets from RM30 – RM300.

For more info, go to http://apps.gua.com.my/terimakasihcinta/

Do share this on your wall and let’s get the word out.

 

