Results: Easters 2010

Posted on April 14, 2010


Dear debaters,

The Australian Intervarsity Debating Championships, a novice tournament affectionately known as “Easters” was hosted by the University of Melbourne in 2010.

After six preliminary rounds, and a hotly-contested finals series, the University of Sydney Union team 4 (Bronte Lambourne, Nina Ubaldi, Tom Williamson) defeated the University of Queensland team 2 (Emily Chalk, Lucy Wark, Rebecca Conrick) in a 5-2 split decision in the Melbourne Law School Grand Final on the topic “That African American celebrities should not use the term ‘nigger'”.

The ten best novice speakers were:
1. Dominic Bowes (University of Sydney Union)
2. Eleanor Gordon-Smith (University of Sydney Union)
3. Heydon Letcher (University of Sydney Union)
4. Daniel Higginbottom (Australian National University)
4. Bronte Lambourne (University of Sydney Union)
6. Hannah Canham (University of Adelaide)
7. Bebe D’Souza (University of Sydney Union)
8. Tom Chen (Australian National University)
9. Abigail McCarthy (University of Sydney Union)
9. Tom Williamson (University of Sydney Union)

Dominic Bowes was also the Best Speaker of the tournament.

Seamus Coleman was the Chief Adjudicator. The Deputy Chief Adjudicators were Lauren Humphrey (University of Queensland) and Tim Mooney (University of Sydney). The Tournament Director was Michael Ciesielski.

Full results and motions are available online: http://muds. whypsloven. net/easters10/

We also have several items of lost property – if you lost (or found)something at the tournament please get in touch with us at easters2010@ mudsonline. net.

We look forward to hosting the debating community again at ADAM, the premier pre-Australs tournament, to be held from Friday June 25 – Sunday June 27.

We also congratulate the University of Adelaide on winning the right to host Easters 2011.

Thank you to all those involved in what we hope you agree was a great tournament.

Daniel McNamara and Duncan Campbell