UiTM CaIREx 2010: Looking For A Job? Stop Trying Too Hard.

Posted on March 18, 2010

0


Get a life. Only then you would be an interesting person. Spend only 1 – 2 hours a day looking for a job and spend the remaining 12 hours doing something that you love with people.

Why does this work? Woody Allen once said that eighty percent of success is just showing up. When I first started my business, a great mentor of mine told me to do jobs pro-bono and do what I do best for them. People will then see the results and want to hire my company to do the same for them and their companies. That’s the obvious reason.

Here’s the more subtle reason this works. Nobody wants to hire someone (or a company) who needs to be hired to survive. Depressed is not attractive. People want to hire energized people who are passionate and excited about what they’re doing. Jobs come from being engaged in the world and building human connections.

Those were just the few advices and tips that I gave during my speech at the UiTM 7th Career and Industrial Relation Expo yesterday afternoon. To download the powerpoint presentation click on the following: UITM_CAIREX

The materials used during the presentation are inspired by Nick Morgan of Public Words Inc. Today’s (18/03/2010) featured speaker is also an inspiring individual. He is my debate mentor, a business guru and a brother – Saiful Amin Jalun. Hope to see you there!

